How To Brew Less Than 23l With A Kit?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smollocks

Reaction score
I've been doing some reading in advance of buying & brewing my first kit, and it seems like all the kits result in a final volume of 23L, or about 60 stubbies. Is there a reason for this standard 23L volume, and is it possible (and easy) to adjust this down to about half? I imagine just using less water would adversely affect the flavour.

I don't really want to have to drink 60 stubbies before I can move on to the next brew, by that time I'll be sick of the beer and the learning process will be a lot slower. As this is my first attempt I don't have a beer fridge to store it all, and even coming up with the 60 bottles will be a stretch. I know I can just throw out what I don't want, but the question still stands about adjusting final volumes.

Cheers :)

You can get the coopers PETs in packs of 15 for roughly $15 at coles if you are in a stretch..

Or buy a coopers homebrew kit from BigW/Kmart for roughly $85-90 and it comes with 30 of the PETs as well...

You can do half batches, it works on the same principle of doing a toucan brew (i.e. two cans of extract made to 23L).

I did one with a coopers real ale, a coopers lager and 500g LDME, for what it was, it turned out alright.

I don't really want to have to drink 60 stubbies before I can move on to the next brew,

In the words of the unband, "too much is never enough". 60 stubbies will go before you know it, particularly with your first batches. You need to let it sit for a while to condition, about 6 weeks or so. My first beer was nearly gone before it came good.

Alot of people do toucans, which is quite simply two cans mixed too 23l and fermented. If you do one kit in a half batch its just half a toucan.