How Long Will Red Wine Keep In Barrel?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

glaab

Beer Dog
Reaction score
Hi all,

am mate of mine, Niell, bought a 300L American oak barrel full of Cab Sav at an auction on Monday.
He has some impulse buying issues I think. Anyway, the red tastes ok, not great but definately drinkable, it tastes a bit "young".
Does anyone know how long it will last in the barrel? It's too expensive to buy goons to bottle it, even at $2 ea he'd be up for $300. If we purge the headspace with CO2 [he's syphoned out 20L or so] will it keep in the barrel?, and for how long? Basically trying to work out how to prevent it turning into vinegar before we get to drink it.

Thanks for any replies, Cheers

Im no wine expert, but it depends on the wine doesnt it?

Some wine is made for cellaring and some is made for drinking straight away. To be safe I wouldn't want to keep for it >12+ months.

Hi all,

am mate of mine, Niell, bought a 300L American oak barrel full of Cab Sav at an auction on Monday.
He has some impulse buying issues I think. Anyway, the red tastes ok, not great but definately drinkable, it tastes a bit "young".
Does anyone know how long it will last in the barrel? It's too expensive to buy goons to bottle it, even at $2 ea he'd be up for $300. If we purge the headspace with CO2 [he's syphoned out 20L or so] will it keep in the barrel?, and for how long? Basically trying to work out how to prevent it turning into vinegar before we get to drink it.

Cab Sav should keep (if you purged the head space and added a bit of Sodium Metaphosphate) for about 36months tops before it will be over oaked, you don't know what year it is?

There are about 450 750ml bottles to a 300L barrel or about 900 345ml stubbies, either way it's a bit of work to fill and cap if you don't have the right tools.