How Long Is Too Long?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chatty

Reaction score
I have a Grumpys Masterbrew brewing at the moment that I put down on the 26/9. I racked it after 3 days and it fermented a little more (didn't do a sg reading) but i can remember that it tasted bloody awesome. However, due to Uni commitments i haven't had a chance to bottle it and I probably won't for a while yet.

I took an sg reading the other day and it was about 12, but had taken on a sort of a funny taste - don't know how to describe it though. Infection? Autolysis? hmm...

Anyway, any thoughts on whether it will be any good by the time i get around to bottling would be useful - probably won't be for a fortnight though. Since the general rule of thumb seems to be that age improves clarity and flavour, will the batch still be any good?

Chatty

I'm glad someone else is doing this research - please publish your findings. I will be sure to use the data.

(My guess is: colder is better.)

that length of time is fine for me ussually.i have a stout which has been sitting since 13th of sept and tastes unreal just like the other half of the batch which iam drinking from a keg.
one of my very best brews a robust porter sat in the fermentor for a month.
so as long as it is not infected like you think it should be fine.i would say you would not have autolysis.

anyway the reason i would get it carbonated in the bottle now is its ready for drinking.
with my brews like that which stay in the fermentor for a long time i would have drunk a couple pints of it by now and really have some idea about the taste.
i sample all my fermenting worts and conditioning beer everyday.

Cheers jayse. seems that i might find a free couple of hours this weekend and try and bust it out then.