How do i use Co2/nitrogen for carbonation ?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimash

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am new to this page and hope this post is in the right place.
I am just after some info regarding carbonating with co2(30%)/nitrogen(70%) mix.
I have just finshed fermenting a stout and ready to keg but am unsure of what pressure to prime the keg at and despence at. I have a flow restricter on my beer tap also.
I am hoping to achieve results along the line of the Guinness with the different gas.

I'm about to do this too. I've read you want to carb with 5 psi with co2 then hook up on your nitro at 25-30 psi to dispense

I use about 25-30psi and let it gas up over time. It does take longer than straight co2 to gas up though I find. I never messed around with quick carbing with nitrogen mix so cannot suggest any quick methods.

With the pressure being around 25-30, are you using a 5mm line to your tap?

Where do you get your nitrogen from? Do you need a different reg setup? Are there any good (and australian) resources on Nitro?

With 70/30 gas mix (N2 is always given first) roughly you will get 30% of the dissolved CO2 at any given pressure/temperature that you would with pure (100%) CO2.
There are a couple of ways to work out the desired pressure -
Needed serving pressure, probably going to be somewhere between 100-200kPa with a stout restrictor tap, just what you need to get the flow at the tap you want.
How much dissolved pressure you need to get the flavour from dissolved CO2 that you want in the beer.

Braukaiser covers the solubility of CO2 pretty well, the link is to the carbonation table for CO2 in g/L and kPa at a given temperature.
Say you decide you want 3g/L of CO2 and your beer is refrigerated at 5oC. Looking at the table you will see that you need just a smidge over 10kPa of CO2