hops in kit beers

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

butisitart

Reaction score
i just loaded some hops into a kit for the first time -
i'm a newbie, and i've been doing 3 of the same kit, then juggling this or that a little, to get a feel for what different malt, dextrose etc does to the brew. so now i've just tasted my first (3 week old) brew with a hop add.
so....
i steeped a lousy 8 gm of hops (not important what into what, but it were cascade hops into ipa kit). and it lifted the beer unbelievably well.
so my theory is - a tiny dose of hops is going to lift a kit beer, regardless of hop variety - (personal taste of hop varieties will come into play here). and i imagine you could run 3 batches of the same kit with 3 different minimal doses of hops and get some great subtle variations, and from there, develop your favourite flavours.
i'm now pretty excited about working through different hops at around 8gm per batch to see which ones i like. i found that the 8gm on the first try gave a pleasant subtle flavour without dominating everything else.

anybody actually been down this road with interesting findings????

My favourite was the coopers pale as a base, can be tuned into a really decent beer with not too much effort, in fact SWMBO still gets me to do one every so often, the kit works well with too many hops to mention, be careful mixing noble hops though, I had some shockers among my winners.

I would also avoid POR as a late addition. These can become quite harsh.

Hops are both amazing and somewhat dangerous. They add so much to a simple beer kit that it seems totally transformed, however after starting down the road to becoming a hop-head my missus is getting a bit annoyed at the state of our little freezer. It is full of different hops.