Homebrewing Some Hoegaarden

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spicks

Reaction score
Have been drinking a couple of Hoegaardens, and I've decided I would be drinking this all the time if it wasn't for the price (about $16 a 4-pack at a local boutique supermarket). So I wanna try and brew some of my own, and given I'm a complete novice (my third brew is fermenting as we speak) I will attempt it with a kit.

I've found two recipes:

iBrew Hoegaarden Recipe

and this one in a book:

- Black Rock Whispering Wheat Beer
- Dried Wheat Malt 1kg
- Coriander 15g
- Orange Peel zest 2 Tbsp
- Safwheat yeast

- Treat coriander and organe peel in the same way as grain
- Final volume 21L

I suppose I shouldn't just post that without giving a reference, it's from "Brewing Crafts" by Mike Rodgers-Wilson.

Similar recipes from the look of it, almost identical. Questions I have are:

- Has anybody tried one or both of the recipes? Has anybody got a better way to make a fairly simple clone of this one? If it involves getting yeast from an existing bottle of hoegaarden, I would need to have this explained in excrutiating detail :huh:.
- What temperature is the best to brew this one? The book doesn't give the information on this yeast.
- Where can you get Coopers Wheat beer? I'm guessing not at my AHB store because the book they gave me only ever mentions their kits, as if they don't stock Coopers stuff. And, most importantly, is it a good kit?

Thanks guys.

spicks said:
- Where can you get Coopers Wheat beer? I'm guessing not at my AHB store because the book they gave me only ever mentions their kits, as if they don't stock Coopers stuff. And, most importantly, is it a good kit?

The coopers wheat kit is part of their "brewmaster" range, which is only available in homebrewshops (ie. not in supermarkets).