Home Brew Tasts Like Apple Cider

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bernieszy

Reaction score
I have been brewing for several months using Coopers larger with all going well then one day all my brews turned to apple cider or some other foul tasting brew.
I use Coopers yeast under the lid, dextrose from bin inn (bulked packed) Bin Inn sells bulk loose goods, not sure of the quality. I clean using bleach 1/2 cup to my brew barrel and other gear the bottles get cleaned in a cap ful. I have used a scrubing brush to clean the barrel since day 1.
Any ideas what my problem is and the best way to get back on track

Bernie

There are 3 major reason why it may taste like apple cider.

1. You may not have sufficient amount of yeast or the temperature you brewing at doesn't suit the yeast.

2. A fair amount of Dextrose or sugar makes the beer thin and gives it a cidery texture.

3. Occasionally infection can cause the beer taste cidery as well.

You can easily improve this by rigid temperature control, sufficient amount of yeast pitched at right temperature and exchange the dextrose you use with either a brew enhancer like Coopers BE1 or BE2.

These pack contains dried malt mixed with dextrose some malto-dextrine.

cidery taste is often referred to as 'green apple taste'. theres a technical name for it but im not about to try and spell it. basically a lot of it come from temps being too high or infection.