High SG

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gusty

Reaction score
G,day Brewers I'm new to BIAB and have only done 3 batches witch have turned out really nice!, every batch I've done have had a very high SG after a 60min boil, I have been using rain water to top up water level lowering the SG..., Am I doing something wrong? Or am I losing to much through boil?? Any advice would be appreciated!.

On Oldie But A Goodie.................................. What are you using to measuring the gravity and what was the temp of wort at the time.

Screwy

My grain bill was
4.2Kg Heidelberg malt
1Kg flaked corn
.2kg crystal malt
Mash in 72c
Mash out 93c
Expected SG 1047
Pre boil vol 24L

Post boil I got 1060 @ 23c but only got around 15L with 2L of turb left..., I used a stainless kettle as my mash in and an esky as my mash out.

Sounds like you are getting more boil off than expected. Try adding an extra 8 ltrs next time.
Or if your boiling unit is not big enough ( mine is a 30 ltr urn so i do this) heat another pot on the stove or boil a few kettles worth and add a few minutes before the end of the boil to make up the difference.
The height and width of your boiler will make a difference.
Or just top up with tap water to desired volume/gravity.

Mash in strike water 72 or actual mash? Mash out water 93 or actual mash?

Very simply if your numbers aren't what software tells you, adjust the input till it reflects what your system actually does, then adjust the recipe until it hits the numbers you want. Maybe your mash efficiency is set too high.