High OG

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chap

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been brewing extract for around 12 months now and normally get a starting gravity of anywhere from 1.045 to 1.050 max. I put a brew down today and ended up with a starting gravity of 1.062. Recipe as follows:

250g Carapils
250g Medium Crystal
2kg Light LME
1.5kg Wheat LME

Steeped/mashed grains in 1.5L water @ approx 60oC for 60 min. added 3L hot (~60oC), dunked grain bag in wort and squeezed, boiled for 60min. 30g Magnum @60min, 30g Amarillo @ 10min, 30g Amarillo @ flameout. Added 1kg Light LME and 1.5kg Wheat LME at flameout and stirred while cooling for approx 15min down to approx 25oC before pitching rehydrated Mangrove Jacks M44 yeast and into 18oC temp controlled fridge.

Brewers Friend software gives me a starting gravity of 1.047 and final of 1.010.

Have I entered details into Brewers Friend correctly? does 1.062 sound possible with the above? Just a strange one for me as I normally hit 1045 - 1050 no problems, but I also normally only use 250g rather than 500g specialty grains.

Any and all feedback, comments, criticism etc welcome.

Cheers
Chap

grott said:
I make it 1.063 og and 1.020 fg
Hey Grott, how did you get these numbers? I've played with everything I can think of on Brewers Friend and cant get anything close to the above. :blush:

What was your final batch size in the fermenter? Assuming a 23l brew I get about 1.047 as well.

Are you sure it was stirred and mixed well? If it's not well mixed then the higher density wort will sit on the bottom near the tap so when you take a sample you'll get a high result.

Happened to me once or twice when I was doing extract.

I would not trust a calculator for guessing FG, no indication of yeast having any influence over anything there.