Hi from Darwin

Foxy74

G'day, joining a forum like this has been a long time coming, I have brewed all-grain beers for 4 years now and I still don't know any other all-grain brewers.

Brewing in Darwin has its challenges, freight being one and the heat being another, but I get by ok. I brew using a HERMS and I run my wort through a 30 plate chiller followed by an immersion chiller in ice to get down to fermentation temp.

I only brew ales at this stage, haven't been interested in lagers enough to brew one, but expect I will eventually. Right now I have a robust Porter in the fermenter. Looking forward to making some contacts here and talking about beer! I think I have added a video of my setup.

Edit: no, video didn't work. Must be a bit big.

Nope, no video..

There are a few here from Dawin mate, surprised you can't smell each other's Brew days ;)

Here's a pic instead... IMG_6910 (Large).JPG

Shit. I thought I had the sexiest brewing equipment in Darwin and now I find out that this beast exists. :mellow:

Haha cheers Slash - it's ok but it needs attention re my sparge setup - it's one of those things I'll fix before the next brew.... that's what i say anyway ;)

Hey Darwin mob. I fly up to Darwin from melbourne once a week. If you need anything brought up hit me with a pm and I can organise bringing some stuff up. Like a delivery of yeast or hops or a pump. Got free luggage allowance but don't come close to it so the offer is there. No muling Viagra or weed though . not interested.

Morning guys,

I have recently moved to Darwin and I'm Currently in the process of setting myself up so that I can brew all-grain. I've done a few brews with a friend of mine in Adelaide (with all his gear) and I'm hooked!!! I was wondering where you get you grains from and if anyone would be interested in joining up to get some bulk orders (Foxy, I too will be brewing ales) . I think I'm about a month away for having all the gear and getting my kegerator set up.

Cheers, Oli

I order my grains in 25kg sacks from down south and have them trucked up, it usually gets cheaper per kilo the more you're shipping so I usually get 3 or 4 sacks at once.

Who do you order with? and how long do the bags of grain stay good in the hot weather?

I store the grain in plastic containers from Bunnings. 25 litre container holds about 15kg of grain. Do not just keep it in the sack or it will get full of ******* insects. I had to ditch 10kg of Maris Otter because it was full of ... something ... some kind of creepy bug colony. How long will it last in the heat? Dunno, but mine has never "gone off".

Order from above sponsors.

Freight will be the killer

Heat wont be a prob as long as it doesnt get wet

Gday to all you Darwin mob, I am out in Jabiru and have just had made a decision to seek some work out of the territory for my next role. I have 5 full bags of grain out here and don't really want to have to take them with me, I will have to check when I get home but I think there is 2 bags of marris otter, 1 wheat, 1 ale malt and maybe one pilsner. I have about a KG or more of hop pellets here also.

I am happy to take them in to Humpty Doo(that is a real place for all you southerners) and would be happy to sell the lot. They are about 6 months old and have been un opened, you can even have the fridge shell that I gutted and sealed up to store them all in. I will have to look up what they are all worth, I had a friend bring them up in a car so there was no freight so I am basically asking for cost price. Please let me know if your interested!

Dom

I'd definitely be interested assuming it's still good, I'm almost out of base malt. Sealed in an old fridge you reckon? No bugs or anything get in there?

Sounds good! I will check what I have on stock when I get home and let you know!

yeah, went and got an old 300 odd liter fridge from the tip and cut the compressor and everything out of it to make it a bit lighter. Then I layed it on its back, sprayed a surface spray over all the possible entry points and blocked up the pipes leading in from the back. Sit a bit of heavy stuff on top and its all sealed up! I put a few bay leaves in there also as I am told they are very useful in keeping weasels out!

I have not opened the bags so I cannot look inside to make sure there are no bugs, but I doubt there is!

Sorry for hijacking the thread, thought this was the best way to get NT brewers attention....

Ok, inventory goes as

Full sacks

1 x pearl malt - fawcett
1 x ale - Barrett burston
1 x Maris otter
1 x pilsner - weyerman
1 x wheat - Barrett burston

Some crystal, choc, Munich and about 10kg of Pilsner(all quite old and chucked in for free)

150g galaxy - flowers
All the rest pellets
200g amerillo
430g summit
450g cascade
450g willamette

All hops have always been vacuum sealed and frozen, some imported, some bought local. All 12 months old

Had a look threw the grain, opened a couple of them. They don't smell super fresh but they smell ok to me, I did find a rather large pile of dead weavels at the inside drain inlet where a lot of surface spray was put. I found one live weavell in the fridge. I grabbed out a few hand fulls of grain and could not find any insects in the grain itself. If your a true territorian you know that bugs are a part of life anyway ;)

$500 for the lot seems like a reasonable deal considering the age and also the lack of any freight.

The bag of pilsner malt and marris otter malt gone!

I have had a good look threw both the bags that have sold and they both look fine to me!

The rest is still available, pm me if your interested