Help with my first RIS

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Schikitar

Reaction score
Howdy all,

I'm pretty new to brewing and my second BIAB I put down last week was a RIS, I used the following recipe;

Batch size (fermenter) - 26 Litres
SG: 1.089

• 8 kg Golden Promise
  • .75 kg Chocolate
  • .4 kg Dark Crystal
  • .4 kg Brown Malt
  • .4 kg Amber Malt
  • .25 kg Rolled Oats
  • 50g Columbus @ FWH
  • 1/2 Whirlfloc @ 10mins
  • 30g Columbus @ Flameout
  • US-05 and S-04 (I had a packet each of these on hand and didn't want to underpitch so I decided to rehydrate and use both, crazy?)

I use a Crown 40L urn so I ended up doing a reiterated mash (mashed half the grain bill normally, then mashed the second half in the same wort). I did a 90 minute boil to get down to 28L, in hindsight an extra 1-2L would have been good to fully fill the cube after kettle loss). I no-chill at the moment so the 30g hop addition was meant to be 10 minutes so I moved it to flameout just to keep hop junk out of the cube.

The recipe called for a SG of 1.084-1.089, so I was pretty happy to hit 1.089. Now it's been in the fermenter since Monday (maintained at 20 degrees) and it was pretty active for a few days but has now slowed down. I'm considering a dry hop as it has good bitterness but next to no hop aroma or flavour. If I was to dry hop is there a particular hop that I should consider to compliment the columbus and this style of beer, or just go with more columbus? Or leave it alone...