Help with first cider

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beercus

Reaction score
Hi all,

This is my first time posting but I have been around here for a while.

Beer going well so I am attempting a cider for summer, I have used modified Franko recipe:

12 Litres 100% Apple juice no added flavours or preservatives (Woolworths)
6 Litres Apple & Pear juice no added flavours or preservatives (Woolworths)
290 grams LDME
2x 850ml can pear juice (goullburn valley)
1 L apple, pomegranate and raspberry juice (berri) (97% apple! and just because it was in the cupboard)
4 Apples granny smiths quarters added to fermenter (no core)
Wyeast 4766 Cider Yeast
1 teaspoon yeast nutrient
1 cup of 4 bag tea
Juice of one small lemon

So it has been in the fermenter under the stairs for 12 days now at temp ranging from 16oC - 23oC, mostly around 18oC. It bubbled like crazy for 2 days and then slowed.

OG was 1.053
After 8 days was 1.011
After 12 days at 1.010
So I calculate it to be about 5.7%ABV which is great...

I have 48 odd 500ml craft beer bottles ( picked up cheap from plasdene, 30c each) waiting to go. I do not have the facilities to crash chill. I can put bottles under the house which will be considerably cooler.

What do I do now? It is very cloudy... See pic.. So it taste ok, sweetness is about right. There is a slight after taste and I'm wondering if I should add more nutrient, or too late?

Do I carbonate the same as beer? I have been using carbonation drops.

I do have a secondary which I could rack to and let it sit at room temp to settle. Is there a better way to clear it? Gelatine, enzymes?

How much longer should I leave it in the primary? How long in secondary? How long in bottle before chill and drink?

Lots of questions, and I am sure I will think of more..

Thanking you in advance

Cus

image.jpg