Help Support Aussie Homebrewer by donating using the link above.
  1. Brewer's Friend is having an open giveaway, ends soon, so enter now!

Click Here to Enter Now!
    Dismiss Notice

Help needed for this beginner

Discussion in 'Announcements and Support' started by Lenz, 6/10/18.

1. Lenz

Posted 6/10/18
    hey guys!
    I’ve been brewing for about 6 months now and I’m loving it!! I haven’t made the jump to boiling just yet I’m still using the malt extract cans, and I have a quick question about them.
    No matter what brand I use or the difference I make in the brewing process, my beer always has the same tangy home brew taste! Is this becuase it’s all canned slop?
    This question has properly been asked before, but any help or advise would be very much appreciated
    Thanks boys

2. Maheel

Posted 6/10/18
    do you temp control your ferment in a fridge with temp controller etc?

do you use the yeast that comes with the kit ?

do you use white sugaz with the can - o - goo ?

tell us more about your methods

3. altone

Kept man
    Posted 6/10/18
    Yep like @Maheel says - more info would help
    But I think the 2 main suspects are too high a ferment temp and using
    normal sugar if you do that assuming your sanitation is already under control of course.
    Kits like Coopers suggest something like 21-27C to ferment whereas most here would suggest closer to 18C
    With the added sugar, even if you are using dextrose or a "brew enhancer" mix, it might be worth trying more
    Light Dried Malt Extract instead.

I always tasted a slight kit twang until I started adding less white sugars and more malts and steeped specialty malt.

Although it could just be because I was more experienced and had got the process more under control especially temperatures when I started doing that.

let us know what your process is and someone will help you on your way :)

koshari likes this.
  4. Lenz

Posted 6/10/18
    Thanks for the reply Maheel