Help getting that crisp Lager taste

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrre

Reaction score
Hi All,

I have been brewing on the Grainfather for 12 months now and produced some pretty reasonable beers.

One of my favourite styles are Lagers, I have brewed several but none of them have had that real "crisp" taste and mouth feel that commercially produced lagers have. I believe my brewing methods are sound. I hit my numbers on my brews and I have a tempreature controlled fermentation chamber to take care of fermentation temps.

The only thing I haven't done to this point is water mineral adjustments so I am kind of pin pointing this as one possible source of my issues. I do use campden tablets and have used PH 5.2 stabiliser before in my water. I run my water through a dual stage water filter (Bunnings type)

My question is if I want to start adjusting minerals based on the water report from my area am I better off by passing the water filter so my water is as close as possible to the report as I am guessing the water filter will be changing the mineral profile of the tap water fairly dramatically?

Would I be better off getting an RO water system and building my mineral profile up from scratch?

Any other ideas on how I can get that crisp taste would be greatly appreciated.

Wouldn't mind finding that out myself, I've just put down a 17L batch lager. Noticed some of my brews lack that 'crisp' taste. I have a local water report but haven't bothered to add any ions except a campden tablet. I do add at least 3% acid malt with almost every brew i do now, would be interesting to know if thats supposed to make any difference.

Hi All,

I have been brewing on the Grainfather for 12 months now and produced some pretty reasonable beers.