Help For Newbie - Lagering And Bulk Priming/carbonation

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

msha094

Reaction score
Hi all,

This is my first post so hope it all goes well! Im very new to brewing and am brewing only my second brew. I chose a lager this time as i normally drink these (Heineken by choice). Anyways i have my brew in my fridge fermenting away slowly at around 8.5 degrees. I pitched the yeast at around 23 degrees and waited for action before cooling it down to its current temps. Initial SG was 1.040. The brew is a brewcraft dutch lager (premium pack).

Today i went out and bought a secondary carboy to rack out the wort into for my lagering process. Here's were it gets merky for me.

Correct me on my process:

At about 3/4 of the way through primary fermentation (around 1.020) i will rack (using sterile syphon) into my glass 23 litre carboy and place bung in and airlock.
I will bring it back up to around 65 F or so for D-Rest (1-2 days)
Then Ill place secondary into fridge and cool to around 1 degree for approx 4 - 6 weeks. (lagering)
Ill clean out my first carboy and prime with sugar (not sure how much and what to use either - help here would be appreciated!), then rack into this for bottling. Possibly add a small amount of Saflager S-23 for bottling/conditioning.
Bottle straight away into PET bottles. Condition at lagering temps for how long i dont know.

I only have a basic setup and need help where i can. Figures and what to use for priming would be good too!

Any help would be much appreciated!

Matt

Hi all,