Hello All

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

banksy20

Reaction score
Hi to the community. My name is Tony from Grafton NSW. I'm a scientist (organic chemist by trade) involved in a second generation ethanol project and spent waaaaaay too much time experimenting with all grain brewing many moons ago, even to the extent of malting my own barley (too much time then). Family and a lack of time came along some twenty years ago and put paid to that.
I've been back into brewing for a little while now and stumbled across the forum. The availability of expertise has certainly changed in the last twenty years. All grain home brewers were few and far between when I started so lots of failed experiments early on. I may be picking many brains as I move forward.

Cheers,

Banksy

Welcome aboard Banksy. Be interested in hearing about your malting experiences if you get back into it. Have fun.

Not a career scientist myself, but I always considered my brewing to be a lifelong ethanol project. 😅
What sort of stuff do you like to brew and drink? What have you made since you've been back on the saddle?

Welcome, Banksy. Organic chemist is a good background and could at times be useful answering questions on this forum.

Old US joke:

Q: What do you call a law student?
A: Someone who was in pre-med but flunked organc chem.

Before the lawyers here pick up their pitchforks, let me note that I've heard that one from a law professor. It seems that some of their applicants. though nowhere near a majority, fit the profile.

Hello Tony, welcome to AHB. What kind of beer are you currently making?

Hi Banksy,

Greetings, wow impressive knowledge - look forward to your posts. I'm a lil south of you just near Nana Glen.
Cheer, Nick