Heat Pad - basic beginner questions

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrtona

Reaction score
Hi
I've been given a plug in heat pad, I've never used one before.
I usually have my fermenter in a kitchen cupboard, covered with a blanket; I live in Canberra and temps in the house drop to 5C in the early morning.
Do I just sit the fermenter on the pad?
Can I still have the fermenter in the cupboard or would it need air flow?
Do I leave the heat pad on all the time or do I have to continually turn it on/off?
I'm at work from 7 till 5 so the house gets cold during the day.
Thanks for your help.

You need to plug the head pad into some sort of temperature controller. This will allow you to set a temp and the controller will switch the pad on and off as the temp fluctuates around the set point. Most people use an STC-1000, although there are many other controllers available.

Hi
I've been given a plug in heat pad, I've never used one before.
I usually have my fermenter in a kitchen cupboard, covered with a blanket; I live in Canberra and temps in the house drop to 5C in the early morning.
Do I just sit the fermenter on the pad?
Can I still have the fermenter in the cupboard or would it need air flow?
Do I leave the heat pad on all the time or do I have to continually turn it on/off?
I'm at work from 7 till 5 so the house gets cold during the day.
Thanks for your help.[/quote

Do I just sit the fermenter on the pad ?, Yes it's a simple as that.
Can I still have fermenter in the cupboard or would I need air flow ?..cupboard is your choice although having some kind of insulation on the fermenter certainly helps,air flow would be the enemy of trying to maintain a constant temperature.
Do I leave the heat pad on all the time.... Yes.
At work .....The heat pad is exactly that ,a heat pad.