Has anyone tried to make Sweet Potato Beer/Wine?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chookers

Reaction score
I have been reading that sweet potatoes have Beta amylase in them, and theoretically you could make sweet potato malt. Then naturally you would go on to make beer?

I have no experience with this, so I was wondering if anyone has made a sweet potato Malt, or Beer or Wine.. and if so please share results

Looks like it's a viable prospect - see http://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthread.php?t=339931

Recipe Type: All Grain
Yeast: 1968 London ESB
Yeast Starter: Yes.
Batch Size (Gallons): 5.5
Original Gravity: 1.057
Final Gravity: 1.01
IBU: 21.9
Boiling Time (Minutes): 60
Color: 8.6
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 21 @ 69
Secondary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): N/A
Tasting Notes: Moderate sweet potato flavor comes through.

9# Maris Otter
.75# Honey Malt
.25# Biscuit Malt
.25# Acid Malt (to water condition)
6# Roasted Sweet Potato mash, burnt crunchies and all
.5 oz. Magnum hops
1/2 tsp calcium chloride in mash (to condition water)
Efficiency = 82%
mash @ 154 for 60 mins

No, interesting idea though. It often benefits chucking this sort of stuff in the mash anyway - like you do with pumpkin beer, chestnut beer, or (sometimes) beetroot beer.

do you think you could get enough reaction just from the sweet potato so you wouldn't have to add any malt barley?

You wouldn't be making a beer then, you'd be making a wine. But I'm not sure how much you'd need to mash just with sweet potato alone anyway as it's - well, obviously - so *sweet* that you may not need to turn much starch into sugar.