Got To Be Airborne, Right?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimmysuperlative

Reaction score
Im struggling with a recurring, persistent, frustrating beer quality problem which I believe is an infection in my beer.

I am losing almost 3 in 5 beers to an infection that presents as a sour/off aroma and stripped out hop flavour and aroma that leaves the beer with an increased or amplified bitterness.

The beer looks quite good normal really reasonably clear, good head retention and carbonation (I keg and force carb) and in some cases is quite drinkable - if I imagine Im drinking a saison/farmhouse (its a stretch). However, its nothing like the mainly pale ales that Im hoping to brew.

Ive been battling this for over 12 months now! I've followed much of the advice Ive found on this site and others that says to replace any plastic, change sanitisers, use only stainless and glass, aerate with filtered air, purge with CO2 etc, etc, etc.

All Ive left to do is ferment off-site (which a mate is doing for me), or use completely "closed fermentation", but Im hopeful there is someone out there who this rings a bell for and who maybe has some suggestions.

I need to add that this infection has happened with both AG and kits. Everything seems okay going into the fermenter (pet better bottle which I purge with CO2), the fermentation appears normal and wort doesnt have obvious signs of infection (glad wrap and rubber band over neck of fermenter). But the sour aroma is noticeable at transfer to the keg still there after force carbonation and even after months of aging.

And then Ill brew a couple that are spot on??!

Its doing my head in!!! Please advise! :blink:

Do you treat your water? Is it mains water? Not saying anything, just wondering...