Getting the Numbers right.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dan Pratt

Reaction score
Ive been brewing on the BM for a couple of years now and after looking at my records Im always either over or under on final volume n( depends on hop bill and style) and ALWAYS below Target Gravity.

I have it set for 65% Brewhouse efficiency and have no worries getting 85%+ from a mash eff. Sure i can just make the beer and go ok, thats my system but I think my boil is effecting the end gravity, the BM's are by no means vigourus and they tend to boil on one side of the kettle where the 3 heat elements are in line ( its a loop and on one side its 2 and teh other its 3 )

Ive been through about a dozen online calcs and done my own math and somehow my system or something is dragging the chain. I use BS 2.0 and from reading online the math is 1GP achieved during the boil for every 9mins of boiling. I am averaging only 1GP per 13mins of boil.

Having done about 50+ brews on the BM I get on average 7 points for a 90mins boil and only 5 points for a 60min. Im ALWAYS getting a lower than expected Target Gravity and have now idea how to correct this. If I boil for longer it requires more sparge water and that reduces the preboil gravity making the gap even bigger.......

A normal brew with 90min boil:

Preboil Vol = 30.5lts
Preboil Gravity = 1.045
Final Volume = 24.5lts ( minus trub 3.5lts = 21lts into FV)
Target Gravity = 1.055

Required 10 gravity points from the boil and I always go lower, My volume into the FV is +/- 750mls its depends on the amount of hops but the gravity will be 3 points lowere

This weekend is a bigger beer;

Preboil Volume = 34.1lt
Preboil Gravity = 1.075
Final Volume = 27lt ( minus trub 6lts = 21lts into FV)
Expected Gravity = 1.095