Getting the most out of PID Control - Modelling HLT/1V, RIMS and HERMS

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Adr_0

Gear Bod
Reaction score
Hi all,

A lot of people add a PID controller to their rig as they offer awesome potential for controlling your temperatures. There are a lot of configurations and applications: 1V BIAB (internal) and HLT only; RIMS with temp control in mash or in tube (becomes the same whether 1V or 2V); HERMS with HLT, controlling HLT vs mash return; and HERMS with a small (e.g. 2L) vessel.

I'm a chemical engineer by trade and have been lucky enough over the last 10 or so years to work in some cool places, including LNG plants, gas compression/treatment facilities and gas pipelines and facilities. I have been brewing through most of the time as well, but my process control experience has mostly been on distillation columns, gas supply skids for gas turbines and general level/pressure/flow applications. Sometimes you see very complex (and elegant) solutions to problems, sometimes you see complex and poorly applied solutions, sometimes you need very aggressive control because of very fast changes in process conditions but you generally end up recognising that simple controls with some philosophy adjustments can end up being extremely effective, and often the wrong application of technology and/or lack of understanding of the process can cause some issues.

So, a segway to brewing...

This topic is not meant to be about which configuration (BIAB, HERMS, RIMS, etc) makes the best beer as we all know the answer is two cans of lager extract, 3kg of sugar and ferment at 30°C. We should (myself included) recognise that while industrial process control is great and all, some principles do apply to beer but some do not.