First post, need help ! :)

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey guys,

Typical first time poster looking for some help / and opinion.

I have done my second brew and as I was about to close the garage door I noticed the bottom of my keg looked a different shade to the rest.

Now I don't know if this happened to my first brew, but upon noticing it I can't decide if it's actually the density of the plastic, or a layer of something at the bottom?

Any help/opinions appreciated !!

Welcome aboard Taylorhomebrew. Looks like a yeast cake to me mate. Perfectly natural - be worried if there isn't one.

Hey mate, that photo was taken literally 5 minutes after I added the water. Now I'm a rookie don't get me wrong by any means - but isn't that too early for a yeast cake?

Well it ain't a yeast cake then. It does help to give a bit of an explanation of the process that you followed in order for folks to help troubleshoot. If the kit was insufficiently stirred you may just have a layer of enhancer/dextrose/light dry malt that you used on the bottom. The yeast will eventually devour it.

Yes. More description needed. Sorry I saw red flags/lights when I clicked on the photo etc.

Its sediment, of some kind. More explanations of technique please.

Sorry guys, like I said..not of a newbie.

I steaped carapil and med crystal grain in 4l water/added light malt extract and stirred it in on a higher heat - didn't froth up ridiculously.

I then did ten mins galaxy hop boil and rested for 30 min with nelson Sauvin.

Put blackrock pale ale brew kit in the keg, added the water from the steap+hop process and filled up to 23 litres and sprinkled salfate 0.5 yeast.