First Partial....Jet's Fat Yak

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fu ManBru

Reaction score
So about a week ago I tried my first partial on brew day.

The following process was gleaned from this forum and the internet in general.

Given I'm new to this process I would appreciate any feedback, hints etc to make it better next time around.

1. I kicked off by heating 5.5L of water up to 74C. I read a bit about water to grain ratios and thought this was about right. Keen to hear peoples thoughts on this? 2.1 kilo of grain was used.

2. Put a bag in the pot and added the grain - mash temp was 68C

Mash.jpg

3. I found if I flipped the lid of my Big W 19L pot it would just fit in the oven.

4. So in the oven for an hour

5. After 60 mins I took out of oven and pulled bag from pot, sat in colander and sparged.

Sparge.jpg

not too happy about this stage as colander was too small and I'm thinking of a 2 bucket launter as described in Lord Raja Goomba's excellent post.

6. Anyways, sparged with 9L of 76C water

7. I ended up with 13 L of wort which I brought to a boil.

8. 45 mins into the boil I added the LME tin then hops according to recipe.

9. After 60 mins I put the pot in the baby bath (minus the baby) with ice.

Chill.jpg

10. Once cooled to 25c I poured wort in fermenter and noticed this.....

Burn.jpg

bugger, reckon it was the LME? Should I put it in later or take of the heat while I mix in?

11. I topped up fermenter with filtered water and pitched the yeast (at 22C).

And there it is until bottling day.

Overall, I was pretty happy how it went and was lucky to have my bro-in-law helping. Keen to keep going with the partials, the tastings out of primary have been really good and no hint of a burnt taste luckily.

Cheers