Final Gravity

Chook choker

Gday first time using this sort of thing
I just brewed a choc maple stout OG was 1.050 FG is 1.020. Any clues how to get the FG down lower? I’ve down heaps of beers n ales by the kit/kilo method and added extra dextrose to give them more kick but the FG is generally higher than the 1.010 I’m aiming for. Do I need to add more yeast to break down the extra sugars? By the way after about a week in the fermenter I keg it and bottle the excess...
Any feedback or tips is appreciated
Kind regards
Shane

Are you adding Lactose or Maltodextrin to your beers?

Is this a kit? Has it been kept warm enough?
Might need more time in the fermenter.
Would only think about adding a different yeast if it's been staying warm for long enough , what do the instructions say is the intended final gravity?
If you ferment it down to 1008 it probably won't be to style.

The two things I did to fix my problem with high FG was...

1. More yeast and better yeast. Two packs of Nottingham will chew through the toughest worts. It costs more but it can be re-used.

2. Go all-grain.