Fifo Brew Rigs

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Danhutch333

Reaction score
I've been working FIFO for 5 years and finally find myself in a position where I will be returning to the same place each time.
Upside - Now I can keep enough equipment at camp to begin brewing up here as well as at home.

The time constraints are challenging - 13hr days with no days off while at work.
The space constraints are challenging - 1 room to stay in and 1 cupboard to store all my possesions in while I'm on break.
However, the rewards are enormous :D So it is worth pushing ahead.

My basic set up so far is a 20L Water can which can make enough for about 20 longnecks (average consumption = 1 per night over 14 nights + some for friends).
I was thinking about buying one of these so I can do a boil while up here but in the mean time I will prepare (steep/boil) my hops and specialty grains the day before flying up and put into a sterile container. Then I can mix it with my LDME + water + yeast and I'm away.

BIAB is always an option with an urn (which I don't have) but the time involved has me leaning towards all extract.

So I'm wondering, who else finds themselves in the same position and what sort of set up do you have in place? Have you had any issues with management? Any there many FIFO brewers out there?

You must be in a good camp. None I've stayed in (bar one) allowed home brew. That one required written permission from the GMO.

BIAB might be a stretch in camp. The brew takes around 3-5 hours depending, so fitting it in after work will push it. Plus your room will smell like crap after the hops addition and the cleaners will be onto you.

Good luck tho, I've always wanted to brew on site.