FG stopped at 1.026 after 2 attempts at re-pitching yeast....

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Winstanley

Reaction score
Hi All,
I am new to the world of home brewing so there is obviously ALOT for me to learn.
I have recently batched my first all grain brew, all went well until the 2 and a half week mark the FG hasn't dropped below 1026.

Here is an over view of what i did with my brew.

BIAB
Ale 78.8%
Munich Light 8.8%
Medium Crystal 2.9%
Cara Malt 2.7%
Cara Pils 6.9%

Eldorado hops 15g for 60 min boil

Cascade 15g for 15m
Eldorado 15g for 15m

Cascade and Eldorado 5g each at 5min
Cascade and Eldorado 5g each for dry hopping

Mashed in at 66 deg for 1hour and let drip in while heating kettle for 60 min boil.
cooled wort in about 5 hours and pitched first yeast Safale 05(sprinkled dry yeast over the top) when it was at 26 deg. (possibly my first mistake). So two and a half weeks later after not dropping past 1026, I shook the fermenter and sprinkled over more yeast (more Safale 05). four days later still no change so i tried rehydrating a pack of Safale 05....... Two days later still no change!!!

WHAT HAVE I DONE WRONG?!?!?!
Do i just bottle at a fg 1026 with half the priming sugar i would normally use?

It taste ok but will be very low alcohol.

What are my options???