False Bottoms Vs Manifolds

So what you packing?

• Braid/ easy hooker

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Copper manifold

• False bottom

• Other

• Total voters

fixa

Barking Hound Brewery
So what is the best?

I'm using braid at the moment, but seriously considering a move to false bottom, just cause they look good and there's less chance of the getting knocked loose during a vigirous stir... Got this one because it was cheap and esy to make.

What do you use, what have you found best, and why?

I voted braid. Not that ive found it better than any other setup, since its all ive used to date.

But i would expect a false bottom to lauter better than braid in a well fitted tun.

Tried Braid and a manifold. Both were a PITA.

Give me a false bottom any day

Just made my own false bottom for my mash tun two days ago so I would go for false, the systems ive all seen and brewed with have used false bottoms. Never been a problem as long as you drain slow to start.

I started with a manifold, but with the herms system I used to get the occasional stuck sparge so i switched to a false bottom and havent had problems since.

vl

Braid. Never any problems with sparging, easy to make and clean, cheap. I can't imagine I'd use anything else. KISS. :rolleyes:

i use a copper manifold. never had any problems.

I was a false bottom advocate for many years but always had problems with cloudy run off, I changed over to Braide and now have crystal clear run off. I also have yet to have a stuck sparge with the braide, sometimes I did with the false bottom if I drained to quickly.

I am looking to upgrade my rectangular esky/ braid setup to a false bottom in a "Keep Cool". Mainly in the interests of getting better efficency. My current mash tun gives an efficiency of about 60-65% which is pretty crap.

What efficiency are you guys getting with your various bottoms?

I doubt it's the braid in a rectangular cooler system that's giving you low efficiency. I mostly get in the 82-88% efficiency on just that set up.

How is your crush? Do you stir heaps? Any doughballs? Do you stir in the sparge water well (assuming you batch sparge)?

i use a copper manifold but after having it fall apart in a mash when i hit it with the mash paddle a little while ago causing a stuck sparge i'm thinking of upgrading to some strongflex S/S braid next time i'm at bunnings, especially since i'll have a proper all grain set up soon (no more half size batches) and people who use the braid seem to have pretty good efficiancy

I usually get 80% without much trouble using batch sparging.

Technique is the key to efficiency.

If you batch, use boiling water to sparge

I agree with Stuster 100%, efficiency is affected by grain crush, sparge technique(batch or fly), mash PH and in a very limited sense if batch sparging, your mash tun design, which would really only effect your eff if you fly sparge too quickly resulting in channeling and poor extraction.

I use a S/S false bottom. I used it for the first time last Friday (first AG). I had the valves fully open during recirculation with no problems. I also had the valves fully open transferring to the kettle (batch sparge).

S / S false bottom for me too - fly sparge ATM.

Will take the plunge and try and batch sparge on my next brew.