Extremely High OG

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewdjoffe

Reaction score
Hi Brewers,

This is my first time posting on the forum and I am new to homebrewing so apologies in advance for any stupid questions/comments.

Yesterday I brewed my 3rd batch of beer. The first two were from a kit and this is the first one in which I found a recipe that I liked and attempted to brew it.

I went with this Citra Pale Ale from home brew academy - http://homebrewacademy.com/citra-pale-ale/ - mainly because I like the style and love the taste of Citra hops (I managed to source some vacuum packed Citra hops from Ebay (last years harvest)). I went with the extract option as I have not yet graduated to all grain brewing. From reading some of the comments on the site, and because I wanted to boost the body and alcohol content of the beer, I added an extra 0.2 pounds of Crystal 40 and CaraPils.

I steeped the specialty grains in 10 litres of water at 70 degrees celsius for 30 minutes. Then I proceeded with the boil, adding half of the LME (I had to use 250gm of DME since I didn't have 8.25 pounds of LME) at the beginning and half with 15 minutes left. I also used a whilrfloc tablet when I put the second batch of LME.

After cooling the wort and transferring to the FV I topped up with water to 22.7 litres (6 gallons), and shook the FV for 2 minutes to aerate the wort and mix it in with the top up water. I then pitched the yeast as the temperature was around 22 celsius.