Extract Based Duvel Clone - Comments Please

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hosko11

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to this caper but wisely or wrongly I'm looking to attempt an extract based duvel clone (hopefully this is the right spot to post this). I've devised the recipe from the info in this thread http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum/inde...duvel&st=15 and other bits and pieces. I'm really keen on any feedback regarding the recipe and the steps I'm planning on using. Also, I'm limited by stock pot size (20l) so will be doing a partial boil.
Cheers,
Hosko

Batch size 23l

4.5kg Thomas Coopers light malt extract
0.5 kg Dextrose
0.25kg Carapils
38g Styrian Golding pallets 4.8%@60mins (20.5 IBU)
86g Saaz pallets 4.5%@15mins (11.6 IBU)
Wyeast 1388 (Belgian Strong Ale)

1. Steep carapils in stock pot @ 66C for 30 minutes in 1l, then rinse. (Cracked grain will be added to the water once it reaches 66C)
2. Add 1.5kg LME to carapils liquid and fill pot to 15l
3. Bring to the boil, add Styrian Goldings@60 minutes
4. Add Saaz@15 minutes
6. Remove from heat and crash cool
7. Whilst wort is cooling add remaining 3kg LME and 0.5kg to fermenter with 2l water.
8. Add cooled wort to fermenter
9. Fill fermenter to 21L
10. Pitch 2l yeast starter
11. Ferment at 19C until steady OG. FG should be around 1.018
12. Rack to secondary and cold condition for 4 weeks at 1C
13. Rack to bootling bucket and bring up to 20C
14. Bulk prime with caster sugar. I see others have mentioned introducing a neutral yeast as well, but not sure if this would be necessary or not.

Theory behind my steps/calcs:
Partial boil will start at 15l and I expect 5l reduction in 60 mins, so for calculating hops utilisation i've used an average wort volume of 12.5l.