Expert help needed - Final gravity way too high!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

samwakeling

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a beginner brewer in Sydney and have had a few nice brews so far. My 5th batch was a BIAB using a 19L bigW pot. I was thinking I would be able to get 16L out of the pot, but hadn't accounted for the massive amount of trub from BIAB and ended up with about 12.5L...

I was trying a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale clone,
3484g Pale malt
348g crystal malt
14g Perle (7%) – 60 min
4.5g magnum (10.5%) – 60 min
28g cascade (4-7%) – 15min
21g cascade (4-7%) – 0 min
mash:
- heat water to 72c, add grain
- 60 mins @ 68c
- add boiling water to have 25 min @76c
- 90 minute boil
- dunk sparged the grains In a litre or two of water, added this too the boil.
boil:
missed efficiency- gravity reading during boil (cooled) was 1.044, so I added 150grams of LME (dry) in the last few minutes of the boil.
cooled and pitched US-05, OG=1.054

With the recipe I ended up with 10% crystal instead of 6% - a mistake revolving around my lack of understanding of pounds and ounces.

fermenting notes (fridge controlled by STC)
7/11 (brewday) Aerated wort (shaking fermenter with tennis ball under base), Pitched that evening, next morning their was airlock activity. Holding at ~18c (ambient in headspace of fermenter)
11/11 airlock activity stopped yesterday. Gravity is at 1.030. tastes very promising.
16/11 still at 1.030 – swirled wort and have brought temp up to 19 degrees. It appears that fermentation is continuing at the higher temp.. also have a starter of US-05 going just incase.