ESB Recipe Advice

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

btrots87

Reaction score
So I'm thinking of doing an ESB with the ingredients I have on hand and was hoping for some advice regarding the hop schedule. Recipe at the moment looks like this:

21L batch
~30IBU

1.5kg munich LME
1.25 LDME
0.25kg dextrose
0.2kg caraaroma

10g magnum at 60 min
20g fuggles at 30 min
20g EKG at 30 min
20g fuggles at 10 min
20g EKG at 10 min

Wyeast 1968 London ale.

I also have about 30g of challenger hops that have been in the freezer about 6 months. Would they be better as my 60 min addition? Any other thoughts? Extract/grain bill doesn't have much room to move as I'm basically throwing all my remaining ingredients in the brew, although I could drop the dex for a bit more LDME.

I've never done an ESB before so any help would be great.

Drop the dex for the LDME, keep magnum as the bittering and add the challenger at 10 mins (with the ekg and fug). Swapping out Challenger for Magnum is also a win though, I am partial to Challenger for bittering UK ales.

In my limited english bitter experience the hop schedule looks probably ok, but on the high end of what I have done. Generally I have done about 1g per litre at about 15 minutes and the rest at 60 minutes to kake up the ibus. Id say yours would be nice but quite a bit hoppier tasting than my versions.

Thanks for the suggestions guys. I might drop back the hops a bit,I want it to be hoppy but not overpowering the malt. I'll also drop the dex for another 250g of LDME instead, and I think I'll go with the challenger for bittering. How does this look:

1.5kg munich LME
1.5kg LDME
0.2kg caraaroma

35g challenger at 60 min
20g fuggles and 20g EKG at 20 min.

Should still be around 30 IBU but a bit mellower hop flavor.

Challenger :icon_drool2: yum