Enhanced Biab With Lauter Tun Stage

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bribie G

Adjunct Professor
Reaction score
BALTIC

Introducing my tweaked brewing system.

I've been BIAB-ing for nearly 3 years, doing full-volume mashes in a 40L electric urn.
This has earned me some gongs and plaques and a shelf ornament or two as well as a succession of nice house brews.

However a couple of issues which I find increasingly frustrating:

Efficiency

A portion of sweet wort always remains trapped in the grains, and the bigger the grain bill the more you lose. You can do a dunk sparge and boil longer but this isn't a particularly accurate or reproducible technique and IMHO it increases the trub problem further.

Big trub
With BIAB the wort going into the kettle is quite turbid. This is easily fixed with a good boil and a good floc, but it does rob wort volume. And just to clear one thing up: I'm not talking about clear wort into kettle always gives better beer in the glass - I don't subscribe to that generally (jury is out on a couple of issues like chill haze) here I'm concentrating on wort recovery levels only.

Answer: just add more grain to the recipe and up the brew length by a couple of litres what's an extra couple of dollars tightarse. :p

Yes no problem with that, but after visiting a couple of brew days, and touring a craft brewery, I now realise that over the last three years I have done the litre-equivalent of 15 20 brew days simply to throw them down the sink. I'd prefer the beer in the glass, not in the jellyfish in Moreton Bay.
Or put it another way it would be nice to do a 19-20L length to end up with a corny, and not a 23L length to take into account all the losses.
It would also make it more feasible to follow other peoples recipes and particularly clone recipes that get published.