Econwatson is Back With a New Rig

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Econwatson

Reaction score
Hello everybody,

Some of you may have noticed I have been absent on the forums these past few months, most of you probably have not,

I had a disaster with my Crown Urn way back in November. I considered whether I should replace the element or go for a new system. Since I started brewing over a year ago now I have always tried to do something different so the only choice was to build a new brewery.

QLDKev, kindly recommended his 1V system with RIMS: http://aussiehomebrewer.com/topic/68324-qldkevs-new-biab-with-internal-rims/. I pestered him for some extra details on PM and he kindly assisted. I have taken some of his advice on board, and here is my machine.

BJXKyJD.jpg

I did not build the main vessel. That was done for me by a guy over in the UK called Mr Lard. He builds custom work for people like me at a very reasonable price. I paid £175 including postage for the 50L vessel with element and heavy duty valves. As per Kev's suggestion and in spite of how cool it looks, I did away with the bottom return for the RIMS. Kev believed that with a low enough density element you can do away with the lower return so I did. There is nothing stopping me adding one later. The element is LWD 3KW.

FiByq6D.jpg

RqV9Jc7.jpg

The malt pipe was entirely me however. It wasn't really very difficult but I am quite proud of it nonetheless. The legs are just bolts so I can adjust the height of the malt pipe should I ever desire to do such a thing. The slits were cut with a 1mm cutting wheel on a 45mm grinder and buffed with emery paper. I made sure to use new cutting discs etc to ensure there will be no corrosion.

JUQqAj8.jpg

0RWVyms.jpg