Ebay - Handyimports Stockpots

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have one and I have done two brews with it so far.

They have a welded base (some of the more exspensive ones will advertise pressed from a single sheet of metal, but as I am a welder by trade this does not phase me.)
The finish is a bit rougher than the mirrored finishes you will find in a shop. Has a brushed grainier look.
The lip around the top of the pot is a bit rough looking on the edges but this is because the edge has been reinforced with a second strip of stainless welded to the pot. In trade terms it would be a bit of undercut which really doesn't affect the performance.

Basically you are getting a solid unit (reinforced base sturdy handles etc:) with a few cosmetic flaws that in my opinion don't affect the performance of the product at a pretty bloody good price.

Would I reccomend it? I have a second one on the way that should be turning up today with any luck!

Cheers BC

I found their postage very quick. So if you decide to get some maybe order one first and make sure you are happy with the product which is what I did.

Brad, how is the thickness of the walls and the base?

It's only $100 odd more to get a genuine S/S Robinox 70L pot. Over a couple of years, I think the Robinox is better value.

If money is the big concern why not get a TRENTON 80 litre aluminium stock pot for $121. When I pull my findger our for my Kettle I'm getting the ali Trenton (140L version).

QldKev

The base is your typical half inch aluminium sandwiched between two layers of stainless for even heat distribution.
It is a bit hard to judge the thicknee of the side walls because of the reinforced lip.
However the lid is app. 1mm or slightly thinner and by feel the pot is the same or slightly heavier.