Dry hopping an already hoppy brew - will I ruin it?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

btrots87

Reaction score
Hey everyone, this is my first time posting and I was hoping for some advice about dry hopping my AIPA. This is only my third brew and I'm hoping for something with plenty of aroma and flavour from the hops but I'm also worried I'll overdo it.

The brew I've got in the FV is:

1.5kg light LME
2kg light DME
0.25kg wheat DME
0.5kg dextrose
0.1kg crystal 60L
30g simcoe @ 45m in
25g citra @ 30 min
20g citra @ 10 min
10g galaxy @ 10 min
20g each citra and galaxy @ 5 min
Dry hop 20g each citra and summer for 7 days

Pitched 2 packs US05
OG 1.071
IBU 54.17
ABV 6.75%

It's been in the fermenter 7 days @ 18C now and I was planning on dry hopping tonight but after having a taste there is already quite a bit of aroma and flavour going on (it's delicious actually). Do you think this will lessen over time or should I cut back or even skip the dry hopping? I don't want to over hop it and ruin it now.

Umm ..... Can you possibly over-hop an AIPA??

I thought the principle of AIPA was there's no such thing as too many hops.
Too many hops is the raison d'être of AIPA.

Edit: more sagely advice would be that the amounts you're talking about should be fine and will just add a little more aromatics. I find the aromatics you're experiencing from the FV now might fade by the time you get to it from the bottle/keg; so a bit of dry hopping will help boost it back up for a while.

If you no chill, the 70g of high alpha hops you added throughout the last 10mins would have contributed a fair wack of IBU that you may not have accounted for.
At the very least, that's the flavour you're getting now.

Recipe looks okay to me.