Did I Make A Mistake?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

popmedium

Reaction score
Hello!

Joel here. I just started brewing a few months ago and I just signed up to these forums. Thank you for having me!

So I'm reading all the books and listening to a bunch of podcasts, watching youtube videos, trying my best to equip myself with as much knowledge as I can. I've done three brews so far (two of which are still conditioning). A Ginger Saison, Raison based Belgian Brown Ale and a Pumpkin Porter. You might say I've over stepped the mark a bit, well at least I think I may have. I guess you dive in the deep end sometimes.

The ginger Saison was bottle conditioning for a few weeks and I've found that when I pour it I get one glass of lovely red hued ale and another glass of slightly brown, chalkier beer. All this from a long neck of course. See the photo I've attached for reference.

Have I done something wrong? Or is this just what home brew comes up like?

Sorry for the slightly disjointed post. It's up at 8% and and I've nearly finished the bottle.

photo.JPG

Maybe, no ... yes.

I've never made a 'ginger Saison' nor have you shared what ingredients and processes you used, so what what you are seeing could be suspended yeast, or you might have used a larger portion of wheat. Generally Saison is golden and cloudy, and if that is what you hoped to brew then that is not unlike what you are seeing. It's not really how my 'home brew' looks, but it might be what is expected for what you made.

If both of those glasses were poured from the same bottle, I'd guess that the one on the right was poured first and the one on the left second?