Did I just create bottle bombs?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ok so i have been brewing on and off for a few years now and have been lucky enough to avoid bottle bombs but after bottling my latest batch im not too sure how long the clean sheet will stay intact. It was also my first attempt at a mid strength and cold crashing so not sure what impact these techniques usually have.

The Batch:
Beermakers Draught Kit Can
Yeast Safale US-05
Golden Cluster Hops (steeped and added at beginning of brew)
500grams dextrose/malt mix from local home brew shop
OG - 1030
FG - 1008
Brewed in temp controlled fridge @ 18C for over a week and had consistant FG readings over last 3 days and then dropped fridge to 2C for further 4 days.

Before bottling i raised the fridge back up to 18C (I read that too cold might mess with the secondary fermentation).

Ok so by all accounts this seemed like a regular brew, as it was the first mid strength ive tried i checked an online calc using the OG and FG and figured it to be about 2.9% alcohol which is about what i was aiming for so im thinking its all good.

My issue though is when putting the carbonation drops (2 per longneck) the beer bubbled up quite rapidly and overflowed on occasion as if opening a shaken up bottle of soft drink. I just shrugged it off at the time as everything pointed to the beer being done and finished bottling. Its only looking back that im thinking 'uh-oh'.

The beers are back in the temp controlled fridge @ 18C so are safe enough if they do explode but just wanted to know if anyone can point something out that i have missed.

Thanks in advance

You put sugar into warm beer?