Diacetyl And Lagering

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MattC

Reaction score
Hi all,

At present I have a coopers brewmaster selection Pilsner which I brewed with saflager S-23 yeast. It was in the primary for 8 days before I transferred it to the secondary, where it has been for 5 days. It has been at 1020SG for 3 days now. OG was about 1064. On the last SG test I took a good whif and ahd a little taste. It was extremely fruity.

My questions are

1. will this fruity taste dissipate?
2. What are diacetyl rests and do i need to do one with a lager?
3. What is lagering?
4. Should I bottle it?

Regards

Hi all,

At present I have a coopers brewmaster selection Pilsner which I brewed with saflager S-23 yeast. It was in the primary for 8 days before I transferred it to the secondary, where it has been for 5 days. It has been at 1020SG for 3 days now. OG was about 1064. On the last SG test I took a good whif and ahd a little taste. It was extremely fruity.

My questions are

1. will this fruity taste dissipate?
2. What are diacetyl rests and do i need to do one with a lager?
3. What is lagering?
4. Should I bottle it?

Regards

1. Depends what temperature you brewed it at with the lager yeast you used. If brewed at 20+ degrees then you're prolly stuck with the fruit. Lager yeasts are meant to be brewed between 9-15 ish

2. Diacetyl rests are usually done just before primary is finished. At about 1020 raise the temp of the fermenter to room temp for 24-48 hrs. Then rack to 2ndary.

3. Lagering is cold conditioning your 2ndary fermenter for as long as you can wait. It helps clear the wort.

4. If you dont want to lager it, then yes bottle it.

Cheers
Steve