Designing A Private Bar

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

argon

firmitas, utilitas, venustas
Reaction score
I'm an Architect and I have a commission with a couple of wealthy brothers building a private bar for them in a hotel that they own and run.

The original brief was to not have any beer service... just a wine cellar, bottle display and spirits (mainly blue label scotch... not sure they've heard of single malt scotch).

blue_label.jpg

A proprietary cellar will be going into the floor, fully conditioned and humidity controlled... they have quite an extensive and collection of Australian red wine... with most vintages of Grange from the past 20 or so years . They say for a typical function they usually go through half a dozen bottles over dinner.... again did mention the coin they have!
DeGeorgi_01.jpg
White_1.jpg

In addition to the cellar i'm putting in a 5.5m long vertical remote operated retractable glass cabinet for bottle display in the wall all temp and humidity controlled. The glass panel raises up on a mechanism behind the wall to enable access to the bottles. Massive bling/wank factor with mirror back and led lighting.

Behind the backlit glowing marble bar is another bespoke piece of joinery displaying the scotch selection... which i'm hoping to have some input on the selection... I don't know too much about scotch, but if you had to choose (with a limitless budget) what would you stock it with?

So i had a meeting with one of them yesterday and he mentioned that he may be interested in having a draught system installed, but was concerned with the room it may take up. Excitedly, i showed him some of the AHB member's setups to try and convince him to go for it. He especially liked the look of NickB's setup with the underfloor "cellar"... cheers Nick hope you don't mind.