Defining And Categorising Chilling Methods

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PistolPatch

Reaction score
[I just spent about five minutes trying to find the original No-Chill thread and couldn't find it on the search engines :blink:]

I am in the process of writing another one of my guides ;) and thought I might just have a ramble here on how difficult it is to write a complete all-grain guide because as soon as you get to chilling there are so many different methods.

In the old style of PistolPatch I will write a long post and write as I am thinking. What fun eh?

So far in the guide I am writing which aims to show how to brew an AG from woe to go for complete beginners, on the chilling section I have written...

Flame Out (Boil Ends)

When we turn off our heat source to end the boil, there are many ways of cooling (better known as, chilling,) our wort to get it to the temperature at which yeast should be correctly pitched. All chilling methods have advantages and disadvantages. For example, one method may require a very fussy brewer to make minor recipe adjustments but also allows the quite amazing advantage of any brewer to delay pitching the yeast until many weeks after the boil. Mini BIAB brewers can simply put their kettle into a bath of cool water. Another often ignored and under-valued option is to simply cover the kettle with foil and allow it to cool overnight.

Methods of chilling are numerous and often not well-defined. "The Basics of Chilling," defines, categorises and explains these numerous chilling methods in a format that is easy for all brewers to follow. Before brewing your first all-grain beer, you should have read, "The Basics of Chilling," and decided on your chilling method.