Cordless Drill - bigger chuck?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mckenry

Brummagem
Reaction score
One for the tradies out there. In fact I asked my carpenter mate on Sunday and he said he'd never heard of it...
I have a mashmaster mini mill. I upgraded from my barley crusher. ( :icon_offtopic: its for sale)
With my barley crusher I used to run it with my cordless drill or hand crank now and then. The drive of the mashmaster is bigger and my cordless chuck wont fit it. My 240V drill does fit it, but it rips the shit out of the grain, so I've gone back to hand cranking by default, not by choice. Instead of buying a spade handled low speed high torque or whatever it is I read about when researching driving the mill, I thought for sure there must be some kind of cordless drill attachment, that is another chuck, that opens up to the size of a 240V drill?
I cant find it on google, probably because I dont know what to search for. Bigger chuck for cordless drill gets rubbish returned.
Help!
mckenry

most drills have a 13mm chuck but sounds like your cordless is 10mm, you need an adapter. Hardware store should be able to sort you out. 3/8" to 1/2" in old speak.

EDIT beaten to ze punch :)

My corded spade handle variable speed ozito was only about $80 from memory and is a keyed chuck. I found with a keyless, it often slipped, sometimes three or four times during a crush.

Come on, a man can't have too many drills. B)

Liam_snorkel said:
most drills have a 13mm chuck but sounds like your cordless is 10mm, you need an adapter. Hardware store should be able to sort you out. 3/8" to 1/2" in old speak.

EDIT beaten to ze punch :)
So are you saying cordless drills 'normally' have the same size chuck as a corded drill?