Coopers Pet Bottles

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MattW

Reaction score
Hi All,

My first post. Is it common practice to reuse the seals on the PET bottles from Coopers? How do these bottles perform as compared to normal glass? I had a couple with manufacturing defects and Coopers replaced them immediately.

Matt

Hi All,

My first post. Is it common practice to reuse the seals on the PET bottles from Coopers? How do these bottles perform as compared to normal glass? I had a couple with manufacturing defects and Coopers replaced them immediately.

Matt

I've been using mine for 2 years now, reusing the caps and all, and I haven't had a problem yet.
It's quick and easy compared to the capping process.
Still, it's always nicer having it out of glass, isn't it?

Yep, I reuse mine. I've reused them in about 3 or 4 batches so far - not sure how to tell if/when the lids are worn out though...

I've reused mine 4-5 times without any problems.

Just rinse the bottles out asap & store ready for next time. I like the pet bottles because you can tell when they have carbed up nicely by giving them a squeeze.

A word of warning though they arent immune to becoming bottle bombs, though the couple i had problems with split more than exploded.

Cheers.

Welcome to the forums.

If you don't already, make sure you pull out the rubber seal thing out of the cap and sanitise that and the whole cap before using.

They're great. I always use 3 or 4 per batch. They're good for testing when they are carbed up as they go rock hard and they are handy for taking to a BBQ or the likes. Ive re-used mine hundreds of times without any dramas. Rinse bottle and caps in hot water and off you go. Never had a problem.
Cheers
Steve

Welcome to the forums.