Complete Newbie with some easy questions

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

panzerd18

Reaction score
Hi all,

After wanting to get into homebrew for a long time, I finally bought a Coopers DIY kit to start with.

I have a few basic questions.

On the back of the Coopers Brew Enhancer 1 it says that the full 1kg of Brew Enhancer will yield approximately 4.2% alcohol per 23 litres. 500g will yield approximately 3.5% alcohol.

My question is, if I wanted to brew a light beer can I just add 500g or less of the Brew Enhancer instead of 1kg with no ill effect on the brewing process? The instructions call for 1kg to be added but I would prefer something with less alcohol content.

My second question is about cleaning products. I am looking to purchase a bottle tree and bottle rinser. What is the best no rinse product to use? I have been recommended Sodium Metabisulphite at my local home brew store. Is this any good? There seems to be a large range of cleaning products out there and it is a bit confusing which is best for my needs.

Another tip I picked up is the kit instructions calls for a high brewing temperature. If I brew the ale yeast included in the kit at around 18 C degrees, would it yield a better tasting beer? Temperatures in Melbourne are cold at the moment, around 8-12 C degrees ambient. Could I interchange the ale yeast with a low temperature lager yeast and just brew at ambient temperatures? I have ordered a heating belt and automatic thermostat control from ebay, so I will have the ability to raise the temperature if need be.

Thank for your help.

Hi Panz,

Can't see why 500 g of BE1 would not work for a mid strength. Though if you want a tad more malt flavour, getting 500 g of Light Dry Malt Extract from your LHBS and adding instead of the BE1 would be even better.