Cold crashin in different fridges??

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JimmyBrew

Reaction score
Hey folks, I’m very new to this and have only been brewing for a month now. I’ve just signed up on here (Today) to learn and hopefully improve my ways as a home brewer. So I have a question regarding cold crashing.

I have two fermenting fridges both with temp controllers. I’m wanting to know if I’ve got an ale in one that’s had seven days at 18 degrees, then finished it’s next seven days at 22 degrees, can I put it into the other fridge that is prechilled to 2 degrees?? Or do I have to drop the temp slowly by adjusting the controller to 2 degrees and let the fridge make its way down to temp. Thanks in advance 🍻

The pre-chilled fridge doesn't have a great deal of thermal mass so it won't make much difference, if you want to cold crash quickly to drop the yeast and hop bits out, you could put your fermenter in there or you could just set the temp to 0 or 2. If you want to cool slowly, 2 degrees per day if you were making a lager for instance, then leave it where it is and adjust temperature daily.

I think cooling quickly is harder on the yeast, if you were going to re-use it this might be a consideration.

If you bottle it cold the bottles will leave puddles wherever you put them until they warm up to ambient.

If you keg it cold the beer will absorb carbon dioxide more easily

Thanks for that Sidney,
I have an Ale in one fridge @18 and a larger in the other@11. Tomorrow the lager is due to start its week at 18 and on the 7th I was going to put the ale in the prechilled @2 fridge. The larger will start its 2 per day drop on the 9th. Do you think it will shock the yeast too much? I’m not collecting it yet. But would be interested in that once I get the hang of things a bit more.
Cheers 🍻