Cold Crash Procedure Clarification

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PTG

Reaction score
Hi All
Long time stalker first time poster. Firstly thanks to you all for the wealth of good information posted on here.

I'm interested to know what process everyone uses when Cold Crashing. As the name implies it sounds like everyone drops from ferment temp to 0C or near as quickly as possible. I've searched on here extensively and can't seem to find a direct reference to the timeframe people use, just the use of the term cold crashed.
From the reading I've done on fermenting it was my understanding that it needed to be done at a slower pace i.e 1 to 3 degrees a day, otherwise you can cause thermal shock and the yeast cells will release fatty acids and other lipids which can create stale flavours.
I'm not experienced enough yet to have tried both methods to see if there is any difference.
Thanks for any feedback.

Cheers SoO

I can only speak from my own experience. I cold crash to clear my beer and firm up the yeast cake and trub. My process is just to unplug temp controller and let the fridge drop it to 2 degrees and after 3-4 days I keg it. The only difference i see from when i wasn't cold crashing is less sediment in my beer

I have a crappy old brew fridge fridge so it takes 48 hours for the beer to cool down to crashing temp .sometimes more

my fridge def ain't shocking anything.

I have a followup question, if bottling do people just bulk prime and bottle cold or do you wait for the beer to warm back up? I've never bothered to cold crash but have noticed that I end up with a lot of mini-trub in the bottom of my bottles once they've conditioned so I'm thinking I should maybe use finings and a CC to reduce the mess in the bottom of the bottles? One day I'll get around to kegging!