Cold Brew Oatmeal Stout (Latte stout?)

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ArgM

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm planning on doing a cold brewed coffee Stout, I have another post about the coffee side, but was wondering if I could get some feedback
recipe side. I'm aiming for it to be a velvet mouth feel, chocolate and caramel in the malt and finish on the coffee note,

Here's the recipe I'm thinking, it's my first time writing a recipe so I have no clue on basic's but have used usual ratios noted from other recipes etc

Brewing method: Cheap student 19l big w BIAB
Yield - 12L

1,5kg - Pale Ale
0.5kg - Chocolate
0.25kg - Crystal 140l
0.25kg - Caramel 60l
0.2kg - Rolled Oats (toasted slightly)

Mash at 68'c for 90 mins
Boil for 60
Hops - Target (will work out amount later, but not much if at all) @60
Additional: Small stick of cinnamon + vanilla (will work this out by eye) @20
Roughly 200g Yirgacheffe coffee (I think in about 500ml of water, agitated infrequently in the fridge for 24hours) 1 day after pitching yeast
Then again according to taste pre-botlling

Estimated OG - 1.061 (pre coffee addition)
Estimated FG - 1.017
Alcohol - 5.76%

SRM - 40
ECB - 78.8

Yeast - Danstar Nottingham 11g

How's it look?

Love the name!

No roast barley in the stout?

You could introduce lactose to give you the silky mouthfeel and help with the "latte" component.

Roast barley for coffee flavours from grain. A touch of black. Back off on the choc and fill the roast space with the black and RB.

250-500 lactose for creaminess.

Cold steep the roast malts overnight and add the liquor and grain in the last ten minutes of the mash.

Toast the oats for a nutty character. Use simpsons golden naked oats - 500g or so. No idea about the yeast as I've not used nottingham but I'd be going 1099 or 1084.