Cleaning Of Equipment (secondhand)

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pixiedust

Reaction score
A lovely old fellow in the town near where I live recently passed and my Brother in Law acquired his homebrew setup for me (along with six cartons of his finest for himself!)

Now the three fermenters are stained inside, and have a rather funky beer like smell.

Would Napisan be the best to soak in them to get rid of the stains??

Anything else I should do?

I was given a few other things as well. Will post a photo later of what was claimed to be ginger, but it doesn't look like any ginger I have ever seen before??? :blink:

I was also given some heat lights and a thing that looks like a fish tank heater? :ph34r:

Thanks for helping a complete noob :)

nappisan is a good start and should get rid of any off odours, and most stains. If it were me I'd make a slightly stronger solution and let it soak for a week or so, then a good wash with pbw and a rinse with starsan to sanitise.

a whack of bleech for a few days wont hurt either provided you wash it out thoughly. oh and DONT mix bleech with nappysan. bad stuff. oh and make sure its unscented nappysan and bleech.

Searching 'cleaning equipment" and youll find more on cleaning brewer gear than most women will ever know about cleaning anything.

edit: fish heater thingy: some people use these as submersible heating devices to keep beer warm when fermenting. unles of course its a fish tank oxygen/areation device, whicih people use to aerate their wort just prior to fermentation to ensure health yeast growth.

+1 PBW i was surprised how well it cleans, but pricey

pbw is very good at cleaning pretty much all parts of the brewery

saniclean is very good at removing what you cant see or feel, but can smell