Cider - Priming

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shacked

I like beer
Reaction score
I'm in the process of making my first batch of cider. I'm pretty new to brewing and have done about 4 batches of beer.

I've used a fresh wort kit from ESB and SN-9 yeast. It's been happily bubbling away for over a week and the SG has been dropping.

My question is regarding primping. I have a priming sugar measure for 330ml / 500ml / 750ml bottles. I intend to use dextrose to prime (once the SG is stable).

Am I ok to use the priming sugar measure? Or should I bulk prime? If bulk priming, how much dextrose and can I bulk prime straight in the fermenter (my other fermenter has an IPA in it)?

Cheers.

bulk prime is much easier for multi sized bottles (much easier im my experience regardless) but i use an empty fermenter.

i would also like to know to what volume do you prime cider usually?

The only issue is the second fermenter is currently full of beer!

I'm going to bottle in 750ml, 1L and 500ml bottles.

I've never done a cider before so I'm not sure what volume to prime to.

I've been priming 180g of white sugar dissolved in 500ml of water for 22-25L
the same as I've always done beers at.

It's not overly fizzy like a champagne, but it's not under-carbed either
I feel i could go to 200g easily

Thanks Mutaneer. Can you bulk prime cider in the primary fermenter?

If it makes you feel better, I've been fermenting stuff for 14 years and I've never bulk primed.
It's not better. But sometimes it's just easier.

If you bulk prime in the primary, you would stir up everything that has settled out.

I've done one batch in the primary and it worked fine
if you stir the top and get a decent gentle whirlpool going you only mix in some of the good yeast (you need it otherwise it won;t prime)