Cheapest fastest brewing beer for a young guy

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

memainmon

Reaction score
Hi, as a broke guy who isn't fussy what the cheapest and fastest way I can go about making beer? For what its worth I'm only in the middle of a coopers starter kit brew atm but have no idea if kits are the cheapest, i'd be willing to buy in bulk. Hopefully this won't turn into a discussion of why not to pursue brewing this way as I'm a broke uni student who wants to pursue a cheap hobby and branch out at a later time.

Good way to start out :) I guess the kits they sell in some Coles and Woolies will be cheaper, though I don't know for sure.

Fastest - either ring up your local u-brew-it type place and ask them to brew it for you or buy a fresh wort kit and ferment it at home.

Cheapest - Kits are probably your cheapest way of brewing beer but the cost of brewing an all grain lager with just base malt and bittering hops is probably about the same price (once you are setup with gear)

1 kit can- cheapest you can find, 1 kg of dextrose. Mix with 23l of water and sprinkle the yeast. Ferment at a high temperature to get it done quickly.
Will be the fastest and cheapest way of doing it but will also taste like shit. Fresh wort kit is more expensive but vastly better beer but you will need to invest some money in being able to keep some form of temp control in summer or it too wont be great- better than a kit but not great without temp control

Maybe a moderate priced option would be good, try black rock golden ale, 1kg brew blend 20, 15g Galaxy steep for 20min in a coffee plunger then use kit yeast. Ferm at about 18-20 for about a week, bottle wait 2weeks and drink. Should be a lot nicer then most kits but at a bloody reasonable price. $30 ish for 2.5 slabs, is that cheap enough for decent ish beer?