Carbonation drops and exploding lids

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ronza

Reaction score
Hi everyone. absolute newbie here..

I have brewed my first beer, a low carb lager from a kit purchased from a home brew supplier / creator, brewed at 12 degrees. I added a carbonation drop to each 355ml stubbie when i bottled them. Opened the first yesterday after letting them sit for two and a half weeks. The carbonation was inconsistent to say the least. some frothed like mad (see pic..), some hardly at all but still fizzy to taste. all were very fizzy when drinking directly from the stubbie. is this normal for the method I used? Or is there something else I could be doing to change the behaviour to something more consistent?

I also learned what happens when you may have put two carb drops in a bottle instead of one when bottling. suffice to say i lost some skin on my face and left a dint in the ceiling from the lid lol

Cheers,

Ronza

Attachments

• IMG_1601.jpg
    IMG_1601.jpg
    54.4 KB · Views: 140
Frothy bottles can be caused by a sanitation issue. You can end up with bacteria or wild yeast in the bottle that will ferment some of the more complex sugars that your brewers yeast couldn't leading to over carbonation.

Are you sanitising the bottles with starsan prior to bottling?

Some people prefer to bulk prime there brew before bottling as it can help with getting consistent carbonation.